Skip navigation

So today I made some fried and breaded shrimp tacos. Now if you’ve been reading my previous posts you know I don’t eat typical bread derived from wheat or potato starch. I avoid that like a three year old avoids most veggies. But I found this awesome breading that is not only friendly for peeps with PS, but it’s also gluten free! That’s a bonus folks! The box I used is this: box

The brand is called Kinnikinnick and I feel like I need six tongues to say their brand name. Either way this stuff is awesome, six tongues or not! Here’s a list of the ingredients: ingredients

It’s pretty straight forward and the best part is there is no MSG, especially since this is a Panko type of mix too! Now to make this it’s very simple.

First you have to buy some shrimp. I recommend Tiger Prawn Shrimp istock_000003770297small-tiger-shrimp

You have to remove the shell and feet prior to cooking them. Next get a small saucepan and fill it with oil. I used this oil: 20170111_201150

This oil is great because not only does it have a high viscosity, but the coconut gives the breading a sweet taste.

I filled the sauce pan with just enough oil to where the shrimps are almost halfway submerged, but not over the top since that causes burning and makes em oily too. I cracked two eggs, and mixed the powder with some sea salt and black cracked pepper. You can add garlic powder too or spicy stuff if that’s your thing. I can’t tell you how much breading to use since I have no idea how many shrimps you’re using! I had about 8 shrimps so I used a cup and a half of the breading mixture with the spices. After beating the egg up in a small bowl, I placed a shrimp in the egg mixture with my fingers, then scooped it out with some thongs into the breading mixture. There, I tossed the breading on both sides and then with the thongs I dropped the shrimp into the oil. I cooked each side for about 3-4 minutes, depending on how brown and crispy I wanted it. I recommend doing no more than 5 minutes or else it’ll be pretty burnt! Then take the shrimps out and dry any excess oil with a paper towel.

Next I got some corn tortillas and tossed them on the burner like this: 17o89pn5iqmonjpg

Okay if you don’t have a gas grill don’t fret, you can always steam or put the tortilla in a saucepan to make it soft. After the tortillas are ready, place them on a plate using thongs or your hands if you’re fire resistant, put whatever toppings you want, I used Tofutti Sour Cream vegansourcreamas a base on the tortilla then placed (using thongs) the shrimps on the tortilla along with lettuce and lime. This is the final result:

Shrimp Tacos.jpg

Close up of Shrimp.jpg

It was really crispy and delish! Here’s a list of what you need to help you sort out a grocery shopping list:

  1. Tiger Prawn Shrimp (depending on how many people 6 shrimps to a pound)
  2. A box of Kinnikinnick breading  I don’t recommend getting them from Amazon since it’s too expensive, this is just an example of where you can get it along with the reviews.
  3. 2-6 eggs depending on how many shrimps, 2 eggs is good if it’s 8-12 shrimps
  4. Sea Salt
  5. Black Pepper
  6. Paper Towels
  7. Tortillas
  8. Lettuce
  9. Lime
  10. Coconut or Avocado oil for high viscosity
  11. Whatever else you want

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

