Skip navigation

Soup has always been a super easy dish to make. However, through the ages companies have made it easier with the bouillons and the pre-made broths. The problem with those two things is that they are not only extremely high in sodium, but they also have MSG in them too! There’s a solution. For the meat eaters out there you can boil some bones to make the broth (I’ll cover this later in another soup post). Tonight, I decided to try something different, I used water. That’s it! Some cultures such as the Thais use coconut milk, which is really awesome. (This will be made in another soup saga chapter page thing :P)

So tonight I made a veggie tofu ramen soup! 2206335694179558749-account_id2

7860660902989550793-account_id2Now I know what you’re thinking, “Andrew, how the hell did you do it?” The answer is simple, very simple! So let’s begin this soup recipe dance, shall we?

First you’ll need a pot to put all this stuff in, I used one that’s about this big:286234781140428882-account_id2

Standard sized pot right? Simple! Okay next I filled it halfway with water. Then I put it on that stove in the picture and turned the heat on medium. While the heat was on, I took 1 white onion (you can use sweet too), 3 carrots, 4 celery, 1 cabbage, 8 cloves of garlic and I went chop chop chop chop! 1_6

Okay maybe not that skillfully, but I basically chopped about a cup of onion, and two cups of cabbage along with the other stuff. I started with the onion first (I needed to cry first you know, make emotional soup), then the garlic and I tossed both of those in while the water was starting to bowl. This is where the base of your flavor comes from so it’s good to start with those two! Then I did the carrots and celery and tossed those in. After that, I chopped up the cabbage into shards and after putting that into the mixture I covered the pot for 20 minutes. While that was happening I did an exciting happy dance:snoopy-dance-gif-image-x2witl-clipart

Then after the 20 minutes were up, I put about 1 tablespoon of sea salt, 1 tablespoon of black pepper and 1 punch of Italian Seasoning. After this give it a good stir, go on use those muscles! Then place the cover back on the pot so it can continue to boil. While the veggies are continuing their meeting inside the pot, get a package of ramen noodles. Since I avoid wheat and gluten stuff, I used these: 3741848368233928214-account_id2 Lotus Foods Ramen noodles are also vegan too! So this is perfect to pair with my veggie soup. After 5 minutes I tossed the noodles in. This gave me 25 minutes left! So while the noodles were introducing themselves to the rest of the gang inside the pot, I took out a package of tofu. I used Nasoya  extra firm tofu and used half the package. After giving this a good chop, I tossed that into the pot too. 20 minutes left!

I waited…And I waited…Finally after the 20 minutes were done! It was time to serve! 7494599269273422521-account_id2

I waited a few more minutes for it to cool and bam yums! I hope you enjoy this soup if you do make it. Here’s a list of everything you’ll need, cooking time takes an hour.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. A pot
  2. Water to fill half the pot
  3. An onion (you’ll need a cup so prepare your eyes)
  4. 3-4 carrots
  5. 4 celery
  6. 8 cloves of garlic (trust me you’ll like it, good for your heart too)
  7. 2 cups of cabbage (fun note, if you use purple cabbage your soup will turn purple!)
  8. 1 package of tofu
  9. Ramen
  10. 1 tablespoon of sea salt
  11. 1 tablespoon of pepper
  12. 1 punch of Italian Seasoning
  13. A bowl and a spoon, or a spork. I love you spork!
  14. A lime, this is a secret ingredient, I sliced two slices and squeezed their sweet juices into the soup before serving.
  15. Be sure to stir often too!

 

Leave a Reply

